Program Details

Children who are in Grade 2 + are invited to prepare to receive the Sacraments of First Reconciliation and First Communion.

The program follows a family-based sacramental preparation model, which means that children and parent(s) attend the sessions together. Although the main goal of the program remains to prepare children for the sacraments, it does so within the scope of supporting the domestic church.

This framework includes two components:

  • A time of catechesis  that takes place on Sundays @ 9:15-10:15am. These sessions take place at St. Basil’s in the Atrium. However, if public health measures makes do spy allow for in-person gatherings we will continue to meet virtually via Zoom.
  •  Following their time in the Atrium, children (accompanied by their parents) will attend 10:30 Mass. Families can also attend another Mass time that is more suitable to their schedule.

The program comes to completion at Pentecost, allowing children time in the Atrium to deepen this new aspect of their relationship with Jesus, Bread of Life.

Regular program attendance is required throughout the entire program.

Program Cost

There is a $150.00 registration fee for this program, payable by cash or cheque at the start of the program. Cheques can be made payable to: St. Basil’s Catholic Parish.

,

If you are interested in enrolling your child, please our Director of Faith Formation: Marilena Berardinelli

,

,

Sacramental Preparation Program Calendar 2021-2022

Sunday September 19

Sunday September 26

Sunday October 3

Sunday October 10- No Atrium Session

Sunday October 17

Sunday October 24

Sunday October 31- No Atrium Session

Sunday November 1

Sunday November 7

Sunday November 14

Sunday November 21- No Atrium Session

Sunday November 28

Sunday December 5

Sunday December 12

Sunday December 19

Sunday December 26- No Atrium Session

Sunday January 2

Sunday January 9

Sunday January 16

Sunday January 23

Sunday January 30- No Atrium Session

Sunday February 6

Sunday February 13

Sunday February 20- No Atrium Session

Sunday February 27

Sunday March 6

Sunday March 13- No Atrium Session

Saturday March 19- No Atrium Session

Sunday March 27

Saturday April 2- FIRST RECONCILIATION (TBC)

Sunday April 3- No Atrium Session

Sunday April 10

Thursday April 14- HOLY THURSDAY (7:00-7:30 PM on Zoom)

Friday April 15- GOOD FRIDAY (2:00-2:30 PM on Zoom)

Sunday April 17- EASTER SUNDAY (9:45-10:15 AM)

Sunday April 24

Sunday May 1

Sunday May 8- FIRST COMMUNION (TBC)

Sunday May 15

Sunday May 22

Sunday May 29- Last Atrium Session