Children ages seven (Grade 2) and older are invited to prepare for the Sacraments of First Reconciliation and First Communion. At St. Basil’s, the preparation for these Sacraments takes place within the context of our children’s catechetical program called the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd.

The program offers children a comprehensive experience of the Word of God and the liturgical experience of the Church. This encounter between the child and God takes place within a child centered environment called the Atrium. It is here that children journey with Jesus whom they learn to recognize and celebrate in the bread and wine.

The program also supports parents in their role as their child’s primary educator in the faith. The program calendar that follows indicates the dates when parents also gather together to learn and reflect how to best accompany their child in this relationship with Jesus.

To inquire about program specifics, to visit the Atrium or to enroll your child, please contact our Director of Family Ministries: marilena.berardinelli@utoronto.ca

 

Program Details

Beginning in the month of October, children gather weekly in the Atrium from 11:30am-12:30pm. At 12:30pm the children, accompanied by their catechists, join the larger Church community for the Eucharistic portion of the Sunday liturgy.

Children receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation on the First Sunday of Lent (February 25) and the Sacrament of First Communion on Good Shepherd Sunday (April 22). The program comes to completion at Pentecost, allowing children time in the Atrium to deepen this new aspect of their relationship with Jesus, Bread of Life.

Regular (not perfect) program attendance is required throughout the program.

 

Program Cost

There is a $75.00 registration fee for this program, payable by cash or cheque at the start of the program. Cheques can be made payable to: St. Basil’s Catholic Parish.

 

Sacramental Preparation Program Calendar 2017-2018

Sunday October 15 ( + Parent Meeting 11:30-12:00)

Sunday October 22

Sunday October 29

Sunday November 5

Sunday November 12

Sunday November 26 ( + Parent Meeting 11:30-12:00)

Sunday December 3

Sunday December 10

Sunday December 17

Sunday January 7

Sunday January 14 ( + Parent Meeting 11:30-12:00)

Sunday January 21

Sunday January 28

Sunday February 4

Sunday February 11

Sunday February 25

Sunday February 25- First Reconciliation (1:00-2:30)

Sunday March 4 ( + Parent Meeting 11:30-12:00)

Sunday March 25

Sunday April 8

Sunday April 15

Sunday April 22- First Communion (10:30)

Sunday April 29 ( + Parent Meeting 11:30-12:00)

Sunday May 6

Sunday May 13

Sunday May 20- Pentecost celebration and remittance of certificates